tiggeryumyum: (Default)
tiggeryumyum ([personal profile] tiggeryumyum) wrote2019-07-28 05:44 pm

Point/Error Guide

Regarding the The Points tab on my HQ Chart

I keep tallies of the games in the manga, and I wanted to explain the rules of keeping score in volleyball, and my own take on certain scenes, just so people know how much weight to give my decisions.



Scoring is pretty self explanatory: the last player who makes contact with the ball before a point/error, gets a point.

Errors are a little more complicated. There are three types of errors:
1. Block Error
2. Attack Error
3. Receive* Error.
*receive errors don't really exist but let's stick a pin in that

BLOCK ERROR

A BLOCK ERROR is when a block makes contact with an attack, but the attack still scores -

1. A block error does NOT happen if the block does NOT make contact, but the attack scores.
2. A block error DOES NOT happen if the block makes contact, and the attack is saved (one-touch).



So if a blocker simply limits the range of an attack without touching the ball, no block error:



Contact with the ball on a scoring attack is a block error:





You'll notice that only Akaashi and Kai made contact with the ball in the examples above, I'm counting Akaashi and Onaga, and Kai and Kuroo.

Per official volleyball guides, ALL players who participate in the block should be counted, even if only one player makes contact with the ball. Unfortunately I cannot figure out how to split a point/error by 3 in google sheets, so when tallying a 3 person block, I can only count the 2 players closest to the ball.

Sometimes it is impossible to tell who is jumping into it, especially when it's in a montage of gameplay so you don't even know what the rotation is. In those cases if I'm not comfortable guessing, I give the visible character the full point/error.

Sometimes it can be hard to tell if a spiker hit through the block or not, because the impact lines Furudate draws obscure the action.



In those cases, I keep in mind a few factors such as how the anime portrays the scene, and the spiker themselves. When in doubt with a spiker like Ushijima, for example, I assume that he spiked through the block, and the blocker gets an error.

As I'm sure you can tell, this sometimes means that VERY TALENTED blockers get MORE errors than lazy ones do. Because they make contact with the ball more often, spikers have more opportunities to score off them.

ATTACK ERROR

I feel like this is probably the most self-explanatory. If an attack fails, and it loses a point, it is an attack error.

Hitting out of bounds is an attack error:



This.. thing is an attack error:



(or possibly a receive error? or a block error could work too. It is an error.)

However if an attack is simply received, it is not an attack error.



If a block doesn't kill the attack it is not an attack error (rebound).





RECEIVE ERROR

IRL these don't exist and they're not supposed to be tallied. I do anyway because otherwise the libero stats would be very very boring. Why aren't we supposed to tally them? Well the score sheet should be accountable for each point lost in a game. So you have a play like this:



This is a clear attack error by Daichi, but if we're counting receive errors, do we give it to Nishinoya? Do we count TWO errors for Karasuno for one point loss? so in this case I would resolve it like so:



However if it had been a direct attack over the net, not a block, I would've counted this as a receive error against Nishinoya.

RALLIES ARE NOT COUNTED

A receive is only counted when it's the FIRST CONTACT with the ball after it makes it over the net. So anything after a one touch is not counted. Anything after the initial receive is not counted.

Kuroo did not touch Bokuto's spike, Yaku's receive is first contact:


Goshiki's receive was immediately followed up by Yamagata, but only first contact is counted:


That can make for some pretty frustrating moments like the moment below in the Shiratorizawa match:



There's a lot going on, but only Tanaka's attack error and Tendo's block is tallied. Because Tanaka did a one-touch at the net (you can see the shake lines on his arm from the impact), Asahi's follow up is not counted, connecting to Daichi is not counted, and the set for Tanaka's spike is not counted.

There are a few cases where an initial receive was clearly not enough to save the play, and a second receive was attempted, but did not save it. In those cases I gave the error to the initial receiver, not the second player, because I feel like the first receive is what lost the point, it was never a proper receive.


JUDGMENT CALLS

I've talked about this above but there are times where it's not possible to say for certain what happened. For example, right here:



To me it does not look like that hit was enough to generate that much force in the ball Nishinoya is receiving, but these two panels are directly beside each other so even though it's possible a lot happened between that serve and that receive (possibly an entire rally!), I still give this receive to Nishinoya because I think that's what was intended.

I ALWAYS do my best to tally what I think was actually intended, if there's an error in my stats, I swear it is a genuine mistake and not trying to fudge the numbers lol.


Post a comment in response:

If you don't have an account you can create one now.
HTML doesn't work in the subject.
More info about formatting